Pennsylvania Women's Press Association

PWPA officers

Daveen Rae Kurutz
Kurutz mug

Database/enterprise reporter, Beaver County Times
Beaver, Pa.

With nicknames like “Daveen the Data Queen” and “Data-veen,” it’s no surprise that you’ll find Daveen crunching data and making (sometimes) pretty charts on most days. As the database/enterprise reporter for the Beaver County Times, she focuses on making numbers and data meaningful for her readers.
Previously, Kurutz spent eight years at Trib Total Media, juggling school board and municipal meetings and digging through data for enterprise features. She worked as a weeklies and daily reporter, primarily covering education and the ins and outs of suburban life. Before coming to Trib Total Media, Kurutz worked for the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette and (McKeesport) Daily News as a freelance reporter. She also teachers journalism online at Southern New Hampshire University and has previously taught at Robert Morris University. When she isn’t being a journalism or data nerd, she’s playing with her schnauzer, Crosby.

Journalism tip: Never stop digging — there’s always another way to find the information you’re seeking. Also, never forget that for some readers, your reporting is the only way they will know what their local government is — and isn’t — doing.

Daveen Rae Kurutz can be reached at or 724-775-3200, ext. 139.

Liz Allen

Kay Stephens

Tory Parrish
contest director

Sarah Hofius Hall
co-scholarship director

Chris Haines
co-scholarship director


» Regional directors

Sarah Stemen
northwest district director

Nicole Chenowyth and Stephanie Hacke
southwest district directors

Kay Stephens
central district director

Diane Bitting
south central district director

Our Mission

To promote high standards in journalism; to provide exchange of journalistic trends and experience; to advance in careers in journalism, to coordinate opinion on matters of state and national interest to journalists, in particular, those of women.